Caramel Apple Sangria

Happy Halloween Eve!  I hope your weekend has been filled with pumpkin-patching, candy corn, creative costumes & pumpkin spice everything. ❤  I must say, scrolling through my Instagram feed this morning I was thoroughly impressed with some of the costumes y’all came up with!  My personal favorite: my very own sister’s rendition of Donald Trump (see below).

fullsizer-2-copy-17

Impressive, right?  Not sure how she pulled that off- but I know she has some good genes. 🙂

As for Marcus and I, our Hallo-weekend was pretty low key.  Activities included: me finally getting my hair cut, Marcus changing the breaks on his car (how he manages to be an incognito mechanic, amidst all the other things he is amazing at, is beyond me), taking a trip to the Cape Fear Fair (where we discovered that tickets were $22 each, and promptly left), and more errand-y things.  Don’t judge- with all the traveling and hosting we’ve been doing lately, we haven’t had much time (or motivation) to adult.  We had to adult this weekend. 😦

But- we did have a Halloween-themed night last night!  Complete with pumpkin-carving, pumpkin seed roasting, pumpkin spice candle burning, and caramel apple sangria making (and drinking, rather quickly I might add).  See below– I will also add that Marcus carved his pumpkin in about 5 minutes, and it took me at least three times as long.  I think that sums up our relationship pretty well. 🙂

fullsizer-2-copy-19

So- about this caramel apple sangria!  It wouldn’t be fall without caramel apples, right?  Well- someone in the world had the incredible idea to mix this flavor with the goodness of wine (I want to hug that brilliant human, whoever they are).  I stumbled upon the idea of caramel apple cider on Pinterest, and we revamped the recipe with a few of our own ingredients, with INCREDIBLE results.  This stuff is addictive and soooo easy to whip up- perfect for a fall evening with friends.   Try the recipe below, and I promise you will not be disappointed!

screen-shot-2016-10-30-at-5-09-03-pm 

Caramel Apple Sangria

Prep Time: 5 minutes

Sit Time: 20-30 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups of apple cider
  • 4 cups of white wine (I prefer Moscato or Riesling, but you can also use Pinot Grigio)
  • 1 cup of caramel vodka (We used two- but we like our drinks strong in the Muffet household.  Use however much you want- but be warned, it’s hard to taste the alcohol in this concoction!)
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • 2-3 dashes of cinnamon sugar
  • 2 large apples, cubed (any type of will work- we used pink lady apples)
  • 1 shot Fireball (optional- for an extra kick) 🙂
  • 1/2 cup caramel topping sauce

 

  1. Combine all ingredients (minus the apples, Fireball, and caramel sauce) in a large pitcher.  Stir until contents have thoroughly mixed.
  2. Add the cubed apples to the mixture, and a dash of cinnamon.  Stir the cinnamon-dusted apples into the sangria, until they have all been submerged in the sangria.
  3. Place saran wrap on top of the sangria pitcher, and let sit for 15 minutes to allow the mixture to soak in as much flavor as possible.
  4. After 15 minutes, taste-test your sangria- too sweet?  Add some more cinnamon.  Not sweet/strong enough?  More caramel vodka or add the optional Fireball here (be careful, though…like I said, this stuff is dangerous!).    Once you have perfected the sangria to your taste, place the saran wrap back on the pitcher, and refrigerate for another 15 minutes.
  5. Remove the sangria from the refrigerator and pour into wine or martini glasses.  Top with drizzled caramel topping sauce, and enjoy!

fullsizer-2-copy-20

Have another idea for a perfect addition to this fall treat?? I’m always looking for ways to add to & alter recipes to make them even better( especially ones that involve wine & caramel apples)!   Let me know what you think when you try this incredible stuff out- I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!!

 

Happy sangria-making, and a very Happy Halloween! ❤ 

Xoxo,

Lyss

Leave a comment